back on the blog wagon

Well, it’s been three weeks of radio silence from yours truly, and for that I apologize. Despite promising beginnings, I got out of the habit of writing five times a week, and I need to get back into it again. What happened? I just fell in love, right when I least hoped or expected to, and the new flame and I have been sucking up each other’s free time. Long walks have been another casualty of this new entanglement, and I need to build that back up too. I’ve been getting fed more and working out less, which isn’t exactly an idea combination.

But I’m happy. I’m happy even though the last thing I wanted to do was get involved in another relationship. I’m happy even though this means I’m spending fewer nights at my brand new apartment than I ever expected. I’m happy even though the beau can’t stop complaining about how much he’ll miss me when I’m hiking. I’ve been able to tap into emotions I thought I’d numbed out for good, feelings of connection and comfort I hadn’t experienced for more than five years. It’s an unconventional pairing, which is all I’ll say about that, but it works for me right now and keeps my recovery afloat at a time when it would have been easy to start isolating.

But I do have to get back to blogging. The risk of getting bound up in another person’s life is forgetting to live your own. Spiritual and emotional growth is essential, but if I ignore my physical training I’ll definitely regret it.

Leave a Reply

